Scroll to top
© 2020, COPYRIGHT 4P INTERNATIONAL LTD IDE CHE-141.594.187
en fr

Les marchés émergents restent optimistes malgré les difficultés

Les marchés émergents restent optimistes malgré les difficultés

Le pétrole et l’économie ont été étroitement liés dès l’exploration pétrolière. Le pétrole est devenu la première source de revenus et le principal moteur économique de nombreux pays d’Asie et d’Afrique. Ainsi, la fluctuation ou la baisse des prix du pétrole ont affecté les économies émergentes du Sud qui dépendent principalement des revenus pétroliers, avec des répercussions sociales et politiques. Il semblerait que les pays d’Afrique subsaharienne, d’Amérique latine et du Moyen-Orient risquent d’être le plus touchés car ils sont exportateurs de pétrole. En revanche, l’Asie et l’Europe centrale et orientale en tireraient parti, car elles sont les principales importatrices lorsque les prix du pétrole sont au plus bas. Cela a mis un frein aux attentes en matière de croissance économique.

Le ralentissement des économies

Le développement économique est entravé par la baisse des prix du pétrole. Les pays vulnérables auraient besoin d’un soutien financier afin de réaliser des programmes économiques en vue du développement des infrastructures nécessaires. Des pays tels que le Nigéria ont besoin d’une forte participation des investisseurs étrangers qui peuvent avoir une influence directe sur la valeur de leur monnaie. Les pays riches en pétrole avaient donc été obligés de réduire dans un premier temps leur production pétrolière, mais ils ont ensuite abandonné cette position, faisant plonger les prix du pétrole à leur plus bas niveau. Les grandes ambitions de reconstruction des économies ont été suspendues dans les pays émergents. La reprise prendra du temps tandis que le monde sera confronté à cette crise pendant des générations.

Conséquences sociopolitiques

Les répercussions sociales et politiques de la baisse des cours du pétrole sont réelles, car le pétrole est la première source de survie économique de nombreux pays exportateurs. Si les prix baissent, cela impactera inévitablement tous les secteurs de la société : la santé, l’éducation, les services sociaux et la construction d’infrastructures en souffriront tous. Les pays qui attirent les expatriés commenceraient à se replier sur eux-mêmes, créant ainsi directement et indirectement des tensions entre nationaux et étrangers. Les possibilités d’emploi dans les secteurs dominés par la main-d’œuvre étrangère deviendraient restreintes et surchargées.

Vue globale

La chute des prix du pétrole a durement touché la coordination entre les pays de l’OPEP au sujet de l’offre et de la demande. Divers pays ont abordé la question d’une manière qui reflète leur propre situation économique et politique. Toutefois, il fallait des efforts plus coordonnés pour s’attaquer au problème compte tenu des enjeux mondiaux.

Opportunités et défis

La baisse historique du prix du pétrole peut créer des opportunités et des défis. La principale option est le besoin de réorganiser des politiques économiques qui soient concrètes et durables. Cela nécessite que les pays les plus vulnérables diversifient leurs économies plutôt que de dépendre entièrement des revenus pétroliers. L’un des principaux défis réside dans la fragilité des économies qui a été mise en évidence, ainsi que les moyens d’y remédier. L’autre défi est de savoir comment coordonner les politiques pétrolières nationales et internationales pour faire face à ce type de choc. La volatilité des prix du pétrole a incité les pays qui en sont fortement tributaires à réfléchir à des stratégies de diversification. Le manque de diversification des sources de revenus rend un pays vulnérable aux chocs économiques liés à la volatilité des prix des matières premières.

Les pays africains dépendants du pétrole, en particulier, sont confrontés à de graves risques en raison de leur forte dépendance aux pétrodollars, d’où la nécessité de sortir des sentiers battus pour mettre en œuvre un programme de diversification efficace.

Aller de l'avant

Les pays riches en pétrole devront revoir leurs politiques économiques pétrolières dans une perspective plus large. Ils devront diversifier leurs économies dans la mesure du possible, au lieu de dépendre uniquement du pétrole, et explorer d’autres voies telles que l’industrialisation, la fabrication, l’information et les technologies. La plupart des pays émergents ont été fortement tributaires de la consommation, mettant de côté les aspects de la production. Le rattachement des monnaies nationales des pays pétroliers au dollar pourrait prendre fin. Une profonde introspection serait nécessaire quant au besoin de renforcer la coopération régionale à tous les niveaux de l’économie.

4P International

s'engage à aider les gouvernements à sélectionner et à mettre en œuvre les meilleures solutions à la meilleure valeur possible

Related posts

Need Help? Chat with us

Scroll to top
© 2020, Copyright 4P International Ltd IDE CHE-141.594.187
en fr

Emerging markets remain optimistic despite hurdles

Emerging markets remain optimistic despite hurdles

Oil and economics have been inextricably linked since the exploration of oil. Oil has become the primary revenue earner and economic engine for many countries from Asia and Africa. Consequently, the fluctuation or decline in oil prices has impacted the emerging economies of the South that depend mainly on the oil revenues with social and political implications. It is observed that countries of sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, and the Middle-East may suffer the most because they are oil exporters. On the other hand, Asia and Central and Eastern Europe would benefit as they are the leading importers when the prices of oil are at their lowest. This has put a dent into expectations about economic growth.

The Slow-down of economies

Economic development is impeded as a result of the oil price decline. Vulnerable countries would need financial support to accomplish economic programs in terms of building the necessary infrastructure. Countries like Nigeria require heavy foreign involvement that may directly impact the value of the currency. Thus, oil-rich countries had been obliged to initially reduce oil production but later moved away from that position, plunging oil prices to their lowest. The big expectations for rebuilding the economies have been put to hold in emerging countries. The recovery will take some time as the world comes to terms with this shock for generations.

Socio-political Implications

The social and political implications emanating from the low oil process are real as oil is the primary source of many oil-exporting countries’ economic survival. If the prices fall, that will inevitably affect all society sectors: health, education, social services, construction will all suffer as a result. Countries attracting expatriates would start looking more inward, thereby directly and indirectly creating tension between nationals and foreigners. Job opportunities in sectors dominated by foreign labor would become squeezed and crowded.

Global Picture

The plunge in oil prices has seriously affected the nature of coordination between OPEC countries concerning supply and demand. Different countries approached the matter in a way that reflects their own economic and political situation. Notwithstanding, there was a need for a more coordinated effort to deal with the problem considering the global challenge.

Opportunities and challenges

The historic low oil price can create opportunities and challenges. The main option is the need to overhaul economic policies that are real and sustainable. It would require the most vulnerable countries to diversify their economies rather than depend entirely on oil revenues. One of the challenges is that it has also exposed the fragility of economies and ways to deal with those challenges. The other challenge is how national and international oil policies can be coordinated to deal with this sort of shock. The volatility of oil prices has prompted countries that heavily rely on oil to think about diversification strategies. Failure to diversify sources of revenue makes a country susceptible to economic shocks related to volatile commodity prices. 

Oil-dependent African countries, in particular, face serious risks due to heavy dependence on petrodollars, hence the need to think out of the box to implement an effective diversification program.

Going Forward

The historic low oil price can create opportunities and challenges. The main option is the need to overhaul economic policies that are real and sustainable. It would require the most vulnerable countries to diversify their economies rather than depend entirely on oil revenues. One of the challenges is that it has also exposed the fragility of economies and ways to deal with those challenges. The other challenge is how national and international oil policies can be coordinated to deal with this sort of shock. The volatility of oil prices has prompted countries that heavily rely on oil to think about diversification strategies. Failure to diversify sources of revenue makes a country susceptible to economic shocks related to volatile commodity prices. 

Oil-dependent African countries, in particular, face serious risks due to heavy dependence on petrodollars, hence the need to think out of the box to implement an effective diversification program.

Opportunities and challenges

Oil-rich countries will have to revisit their oil economic policies from a broader perspective. They will have to diversify their economies possibly, instead of depending solely on oil to explore other industrialization, manufacturing, information, and technology. Most of the merging countries heavily relied on consumerism putting aside the aspects of production. There is a possibility for the removal of pegging national currencies of oil countries to the dollar. There would be serious soul searching regarding the need to strengthen regional cooperation on all levels of economics.

4P International

4P International is committed to helping governments select and implement the best solutions at the best possible value

Need Help? Chat with us