Scroll to top
© 2020, COPYRIGHT 4P INTERNATIONAL LTD IDE CHE-141.594.187
en fr

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala


Renowned economist, a former foreign and finance minister of Nigeria and second-in-command of the World Bank

Économiste de renom, ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères et des Finances du Nigéria et commandant en second de la Banque mondiale

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

«J'entre dans l'une des institutions les plus importantes du monde et nous avons beaucoup de travail à faire»
Read Full Interview

Rencontre avec la Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, un véritable modèle !

Économiste réputée, ancienne ministre des Affaires étrangères et des Finances du Nigéria et directrice générale de la Banque mondiale, la Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, est devenue la première femme et la première Africaine à diriger l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC).

Nouvelle page d’histoire

La Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala est entrée dans l’histoire lorsque le Conseil général de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce a décidé par consensus de la choisir comme septième directrice générale de l’Organisation le 15 février 2021. Elle a officiellement pris ses fonctions le 1er mars 2021.

« J’arrive dans l’une des institutions les plus importantes au monde, et nous avons beaucoup de travail », a déclaré Okonjo-Iweala lors de son premier jour en poste. Exposant ses priorités, l’experte en développement international a affirmé qu’un objectif clé pour elle sera de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les États membres pour répondre rapidement aux conséquences de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Approbation

En juin 2020, le président nigérian Muhammadu Buhari a nommé la Dr Okonjo-Iweala, qui a été ministre des Finances du Nigéria sous deux présidences précédentes, comme candidate au poste, compte tenu de son parcours irréprochable et à sa réputation incontournable à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du pays.

Des réalisations exceptionnelles dans son pays

Lors de son premier mandat en tant que ministre des Finances du Nigéria, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala a dirigé l’équipe qui a négocié une annulation de dette de 18 milliards de dollars par le Club de Paris en 2005.

Cette femme de 64 ans a également supervisé la première évaluation de crédit souverain du Nigéria « BB- », une note qui regroupait le Nigéria avec d’autres marchés émergents tels que le Vietnam. Et avec le soutien de la Banque mondiale et du Fonds monétaire international, la Dr Okonjo-Iweala a aidé le Nigéria à construire une plate-forme électronique de gestion financière, identifiant et éliminant des milliers de « travailleurs fantômes » sur les fichiers d’employés fédéraux. Elle a également mis en place des programmes pour créer des emplois pour les filles et les femmes.

Son expérience à la Banque mondiale

En tant que directrice générale, elle avait la responsabilité de superviser le portefeuille opérationnel de 81 milliards de dollars de la Banque mondiale en Afrique, Asie du Sud, Europe et Asie centrale. La Dr Okonjo-Iweala a piloté plusieurs initiatives de la Banque mondiale pour aider les pays à faible revenu pendant la crise alimentaire de 2008-2009 et plus tard pendant la crise financière. En 2010, elle a présidé la reconstitution des ressources de l’IDA, une campagne réussie de la Banque mondiale pour lever 49,3 milliards de dollars de subventions et de crédits à faible taux d’intérêt pour les pays les moins développés du monde. Lors de sa carrière à la Banque mondiale, elle a également été membre de la Commission pour une coopération efficace au développement avec l’Afrique, qui a été créée par le Premier ministre danois Anders Fogh Rasmussen, et a tenu des réunions entre avril et octobre 2008.

Enfance

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala est née à Ogwashi-Ukwu, dans l’État du Delta, au Nigéria, où son père, le professeur Chukwuka Okonjo, était l’Obi (roi) de la famille royale Obahai d’Ogwashi-Ukwu.

Éducation

Après avoir grandi au Nigéria pendant la guerre civile du Biafra, Mme Okonjo-Iweala a étudié l’économie du développement à Harvard et a obtenu un doctorat au Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
Tout au long de sa carrière, elle a marqué l’histoire, devenant la première femme à avoir occupé à la fois le poste de ministre des Finances du Nigéria en 2003 et celui de ministre des Affaires étrangères en 2006.
La Dr Okonjo-Iweala a également été la première femme à se présenter à la présidence de la Banque mondiale, où elle a travaillé pendant plus de deux décennies.

Une économiste distinguée

Elle a reçu de nombreux prix, notamment des doctorats honorifiques de la part d’institutions comme l’Université Brown, le Trinity College de Dublin et l’Université de Pennsylvanie ; la Médaille d’or du président de la République italienne du Centre Pio Manzu et le Prix du leadership mondial du Conseil de Chicago sur les affaires mondiales.

Figure inspirante

Alors que le monde se préparait pour la célébration de la Journée internationale de la femme, la nomination de la Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala n’aurait pas pu arriver à un meilleur moment ! La nouvelle patronne de l’OMC est une figure inspirante pour les femmes de son pays et du monde entier.

Grandes attentes

Bien que Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala sera confrontée à d’énormes défis dans son nouveau rôle, les espoirs sont grands qu’elle utilisera pleinement sa longue expérience et ses compétences pour surmonter les obstacles qu’elle rencontrera.

4P International

4P International is committed to helping governments select and implement the best solutions at the best possible value

Related posts

Need Help? Chat with us

Scroll to top
© 2020, Copyright 4P International Ltd IDE CHE-141.594.187
en fr

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala


Renowned economist, a former foreign and finance minister of Nigeria and second-in-command of the World Bank

Renowned economist, a former foreign and finance minister of Nigeria and second-in-command of the World Bank

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

“I am coming into one of the most important institutions in the world, and we have a lot of work to do”
Read Full Interview

Meet Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, a true role model!

Renowned economist, a former foreign and finance minister of Nigeria and second-in-command of the World Bank, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, has become the first woman and African to head the World Trade Organization (WTO).

History made

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala made history when the General Council of the World Trade Organization agreed by consensus to select her as the Organization’s seventh Director-General on February 15, 2021. She officially took office on March 1, 2021.

“I am coming into one of the most important institutions in the world, and we have a lot of work to do”, Okonjo-Iweala declared on her first day on the job. Setting out her priorities, the international development expert said a key focus for her would be to work closely with

A technical innovation leader

Ms. Ingabire has served as Head of the ICT Business Development Department at the Rwanda Development Board (RDB) and coordinator of the Kigali Innovation City Project; a flagship program of the Government designed to nurture and strengthen a Pan-African Innovation eco-system in Rwanda. As the Head of the ICT Business Development department in RDB, she led implementation of National ICT programs notably eGovernment and Cyber Security.

With 10 years’ experience leading ICT programs for economic development, she’s a keen advocate of the role of innovation and emerging technologies towards driving economic growth. Ms. Ingabire has propelled Rwanda forward in its adoption of Fourth Industrial Revolution tools.

Endorsement

In June 2020, Nigerian President Mohammad Buhari nominated Dr. Okonjo-Iweala, who served as Nigeria’s finance minister under two previous presidents, as a candidate for the position, thanks to her impeccable record and unassailable reputation within and outside the country.

Outstanding achievements at home

In her first role as finance minister of Nigeria, Ngozi Okonjo Iweala led the team that negotiated an $18 billion debt write-off from the Paris Club in 2005.

The 64-year-old woman also oversaw Nigeria’s first sovereign credit rating of “BB-,” a rating that grouped Nigeria with other emerging markets such as Vietnam. And with support from the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, Dr. Okonjo-Iweala helped Nigeria build an electronic financial management platform, identifying and eliminating thousands of “pseudo workers” on government payrolls. She also introduced programs to generate employment for girls and women.

Her stint at the World Bank

As Managing Director, she had oversight responsibility for the World Bank’s $81 billion operational portfolio in Africa, South Asia, Europe and Central Asia. Dr. Okonjo-Iweala spearheaded several World Bank initiatives to assist low-income countries during the 2008–2009 food crises and later during the financial crisis. In 2010, she was Chair of the IDA replenishment, the World Bank’s successful drive to raise $49.3 billion in grants and low-interest credit for the less developed countries in the world. During her time at the World Bank, she was also a member of the Commission on Effective Development Cooperation with Africa, which was set up by Prime Minister Anders Fogh Rasmussen of Denmark, and held meetings between April and October 2008.

Early life

Okonjo-Iweala was born in Ogwashi-Ukwu, Delta State, Nigeria, where her father, Professor Chukwuka Okonjo, was the Obi (King) from the Obahai Royal Family of Ogwashi-Ukwu.

Education

After growing up in Nigeria during the Biafran civil war, Ms. Okonjo-Iweala studied development economics at Harvard and earned a doctorate at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Throughout her career, she has made history, becoming the first woman to serve as both the Nigerian finance minister in 2003 and foreign affairs minister in 2006.

Dr. Okonjo-Iweala was also the first woman to run for the World Bank presidency, where she spent more than two decades.

A well-decorated economist

She is the recipient of numerous awards, including honorary doctorates from institutions such as Brown University, Trinity College Dublin, and the University of Pennsylvania; the President of the Italian Republic Gold Medal Award by the Pio Manzu Centre, and the Global Leadership Award from the Chicago Council on Global Affairs.

Inspirational figure

With the world set to celebrate International Women’s day, the appointment of Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala could not have come at a better time! The new WTO boss is an inspirational figure for women of her country and the world at large.

High hopes

Though Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala  faces enormous challenges in her new role, hopes are high that she will fully utilize her longstanding experience and skills to overcome the hurdles lying ahead. 

4P International

4P International is committed to helping governments select and implement the best solutions at the best possible value

Need Help? Chat with us